An Indiana couple that killed two children and one adult in a hit and run accident pled guilty to multiple charges stemming from the crash including leaving an accident that resulted in death and obstruction of justice.
Leonard Grosswiler, 43, provided a sworn testimony that he was driving the Cadillac that struck five people who were walking in August 2017. Authorities, however, believe that it was Grosswiler’s wife, Penelope Grosswiler, 41, who was actually driving the vehicle that killed Dolly Thomas, 8 months old; Courtney Smith, 11 years old; and Shawn Wolcott, 22 years old. Penelope only pled guilty to obstructing justice for her role in destroying crime scene evidence.
What are the Requirements for Indiana Drivers?
All of us know that we must stay at the scene of an accident regardless of whether we caused the accident. However, it is common for people to flee the scene. Knowing your responsibilities as a driver, and what to do if someone else flees the scene is vitally important if you are involved in an accident in Indiana.
Indiana laws state that it is illegal to leave the scene of an accident in which you are involved. If you are involved in a crash, you are required to do the following:
- Stop the vehicle at the accident site or as close to the accident site as possible without causing any traffic obstructions than what is necessary.
- Remain at the accident scene until you have given your name, car registration number, and address to everyone involved in the crash, as well as show your driver’s license to those involved.
- If there are injuries, you must call 911 and attempt to give reasonable assistance to those injured as directed by emergency personnel.
Failing to obey these requirements is considered a misdemeanor but can be more serious in certain situations. Some situations even result in felony charges if you leave the scene.
Compensation for a Hit and Run Accident
Hit and run laws in Indiana are designed to stop people from fleeing and eluding the scene of a crash, as well as punishing those who do. If you are injured in a hit and run accident, what are your options? If the driver is caught, you can sue his or her insurance company for the damages and losses you sustained. If the driver is convicted of felony charges, you may also be able to collect punitive damages.
You may have to rely on your own insurance coverage to recover the cost of your injuries if the driver is not caught.
Seek Legal Help if You are the Victim of a Hit and Run Accident
If you are the victim of a hit and run accident, one of the most important things you can do is consult with an experienced personal injury lawyer. Your attorney will be able to review your case and advise you of the legal options available to you for recovering the most amount of compensation for your injuries. Contact the attorneys at Holland & Holland to schedule a consultation today and let us help you ensure that your rights are protected so you can focus on your recovery.